Illustration Evolution

I read my first story from E. Poe in a supermarket, while I glanced over the illustrated book. It was some time ago, at an age when you are neither a child nor a grown up, and if I remember the stories it is because I re read them again and again. But I could never forget those illustrations.  They were enigmatic, like the story, and they suited that somber atmosphere really well.

Some weeks ago, before holidays, we were given ten horror stories to choose, everyone from the same author. Ricardo Chavez wrote The Book of Nightmares/El Cuaderno de las Pesadillas (illustrated originally by Israel Barrón. Here is his Flickr, and here is his Portfolio. Go to check it!), so my Editorial Illustration professor makes us choose three stories to illustrate.

I didn’t know how to reach the level of that particular book I read that time and I could never find again.

Leí mi primer cuento de E. Poe en un supermercado, mientras ojeaba el libro ilustrado. Fue hace bastante tiempo, una edad en la que no sos ni grande ni chico, y si recuerdo los cuentos es porque los volví a leer una y otra vez después. Lo que si no olvidé fueron las ilustraciones. Eran enigmáticas, como la historia, y acompañaban todo ese ambiente lúgubre que caracteriza los trabajos de terror.

Hace unas semanas, antes de mis vacaciones, nos dieron alrededor de diez cuentos de terror para elegir, todos de un mismo autor. Ricardo Chavez escribe El Cuaderno de las Pesadillas (lustrado originalmente por Israel Barrón. Acá su Flickr y acá su Portfolio. Vayan a verlo!), para que mi profesor de Ilustración Editorial nos haga elegir tres cuentos para ilustrar.

No sabía cómo llegar al nivel de ese libro particular que leí esa vez y que nunca más volví a encontrar.

Sketches for The Magician and evolution of the idea.

Bocetos para El Mago y evolución de la idea.

This is not a story about how I design three illustrations, is a story about how I draw three illustrations, had a full weekend just inking, I delayed more than a week of projects and I failed terribly because of the hurry.

The advice is not just to administrate the time better. The advice is to administrate the tactics so the time inverted works correctly for you. Here I go.

En realidad esta no es una historia de cómo diseñé tres ilustraciones, es una historia de cómo dibujé tres ilustraciones, entinté todo en un fin de semana, atrasé más de una semana de proyectos y fallé terriblemente por apurada.

El consejo no es solo administrar más los tiempos. El consejo es administrar mejor las tácticas para que el tiempo invertido rinda sus frutos correctamente. Y a eso voy.

Cuento Solo tinta

The instructions were to make three illustrations that were related between them, from the same family of images, in a relationship with the horror story and painted with only two colour plus black (I mean, the two colours and the mix between them by superposition and transparency).

My mistake was to think I could dedicate more to the thinking of the illustrations because I was sure of the technique I was going to use. I wanted to make a strong inking, because is what I’m most experienced on and because it was going to help on making that horror atmosphere I wanted for the book.

My mistake was that I saturated myself with the inks the weekend before the deadline. And whe I painted I didn’t give the best of me. This was my first finished work.

La consiga era realizar tres ilustraciones que tuviesen relación entre ellas, pertenecientes a una misma familia, que correspondan al cuento de terror y que estén trabajadas a dos tintas más negro (es decir, las tintas y las mesclas de ambas por superposición o transparencia).

Y mi error fue pensar que podía dedicarme a pensar bien las ilustraciones, ya que tenía asegurada la técnica. Pensaba darle un entintado fuerte, ya que es una técnica que me sale bien y que además me iba a ayudar a dar esa escena de terror que quería que caracterizara al libro.

Mi error fue saturarme en las tintas el fin de semana antes de la entrega. Y cuando pinté no di todo mi esfuerzo como el esfuerzo que di entintando. Este fue mi primer resultado.

And here is how it looks on the book pages, following the original format.

Y así quedaba montado en la primera página del cuento siguiendo el formato.

02- El Mago

I passed with a good grade, but my professor make some points I didn’t have in consideration. Starting with the colouring and how it didn’t help to contrast the vanishing points. Too much black over the shadows made just a dark past at the bottom of the composition, the difference between those shades and inks weren’t enough to be noticeable on the print. Yes, I passed the work, but it was not the best I could do.

He proposed me to colour the inks so they would unglue from the colouring and so I could go out from my comfort zone. And my comfort zone had always been white over black.

These are the second version.

Aprobé el trabajo, pero mi profesor me marcó varios puntos que no había tenido en consideración. Para empezar, que el color no ayudaba a marcar la profundidad y que tanto negro sobre las sombras del coloreado se me empastaba. Había poca diferencia y se notaba mucho en la impresión. El trabajo estaba aprobado, pero no era lo mejor que podía hacer.

Y me propuso la idea de colorear las líneas, para despegarlas un poco del fondo y para salir un poco de mi zona de comodidad. Mi zona de comodidad que es negro sobre blanco.

Y estas son las segundas versiones.

This time I took my time.

Every page took me around six/eight hours for drawing and inking, and six/eight hours of colouring. This is quite interesting to have in mind for the next time I want to get to the deadline: finishing each page took me a minimum of sixteen hours without counting the time of sketching and thinking.

This is why it’s necessary to administrate the tactinc and decide the techniques. And think “if I know I need x hours to finish this correctly, what technique could work if the deadline is on Tuesday?”

How do you organize time?

Esta vez me tomé mi tiempo.

Cada página me llevó alrededor de seis/ocho horas de dibujado y entintado, y seis/ocho horas de coloreado. Lo cual es interesante para tener en cuenta si en algún momento deseo cumplir con una entrega espontánea: finalizar cada página me lleva un mínimo de dieciséis horas, sin contar el proceso de bocetado.

Por eso es necesario administrar las tácticas, decidir las técnicas. Y proponerse “sé que necesito x cantidad de horas para terminar esto correctamente, ¿qué clase de técnica se justificaría para que la entrega se cumpla el día martes?”

¿Cómo organizan ustedes su tiempo?

 

Follow me on

Twitter –  FacebookDeviantArtBehance

One thought on “Illustration Evolution

Leave a Reply

