Artist’s Update

I thought that the only thing left to do, after my graduation, was to re-do my portfolio and looking for a job. So easy, piece of cake.

Such a big fat lie. I graduated on August, and today, two months after, I’m starting. In the middle, as always, lots of things happened. Good things. One of them is that I received my first commission, asked by Josh Crews (his Twitter here), who asked me to draw anything that has to do with Night Nurse.

 

Pensé que lo único que me quedaba por hacer, después de recibirme, era rehacer mi portfolio y buscar trabajo. Así de fácil.

Que gran mentira. Me recibí en Agosto, y hoy, dos meses después, recién estoy empezando. En el medio, como siempre, pasaron un montón de cosas. Cosas buenas. Una de ellas es que recibí mi primera comisión, pedida por Josh Crews (aquí su Twitter), quién me pidió algo que tuviese que ver con Night Nurse.

update-1-09

Another thing that happened is that I had to make an emergency reformat to my computer and I lost my scan of this picture.

Night Nurse is a character of Marvel Comics. I read a lot about her before drawing and I fell in love with her personality, specially her role in the newest comics. I love how strong and professional she is, so I invite you to investigate about her. And to read, of course!

Then, I started to work on a new book project for one of my subjects of my career. Based on a story of Luciano Testa, The Devil of Nap-Time (title translated by me, can be changed), and it’s about the mischiefs of a devil and how the dogs fight against him.

 

Otra cosa que pasó es que tuve que hacer un formateo de emergencia a mi computadora, y perdí el escaneo de esta imagen.

Night Nurse es un personaje de Marvel Comics. Leí mucho sobre ella antes de ponerme a trabajar y me encantó su personalidad, sobre todo su rol en los comics más nuevos. Me gusta que sea tan fuerte y tan profesional, así que los invito a investigar al respecto. Y a leer, ¡claro!

Luego empecé a trabajar con un nuevo proyecto de libro en una de mis materias. Basado en un cuento de Luciano Testa, El Diablo de la Siesta, que trata de las fechorías de un diablo y como los perros pelean contra él.

02

These are the pencilled pages tested with the text.

Estas son las pruebas a lápiz de las páginas con el texto.

03

04

The last book was about kittens, to this one had to be about dogs! I loved working on it, and I’m happy with my evolution as an illustrator and with what I made (even though these are not the definitive pictures).

El libro anterior había sido todo de gatos, ¡así que ahora me tenía que tocar uno de perros! Me encantó trabajar en este proyecto y estoy muy contenta con mi evolución como ilustradora y con el resultado al que llegué (aunque estas no son las imágenes definitivas).

09

Finally, as the last part of the update, the inks I’ve been working on. I started practicing a little bit over the pencils of the great Vik Bogdanovik (check his DeviantArt), who works on Batman: Arkham Night.

Finalmente, como última parte del update, las tintas en las que trabajé. Para empezar me puse a practicar un poco sobre los lápices del genial Vik Bogdanovik (chequeá su DeviantArt) que trabajó en Batman: Arkham Night.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This is my first page of practice and I can see I had some mistakes!

Esta fue mi primera página de práctica, así que sé que tiene algunos errores!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I love the style of Vik, full of fine lines and textures. I love the combination of planes, and how he works the action parts and scenes. Those are an incredible practice to ink. Unfortunately I can’t use them for my portfolio, because it’s usually ask for, at least, five consecutive pages; and Vik doesn’t submit consecutive pages.

Me encanta el estilo de Vik, lleno de trazos finos y texturas. Me gusta la combinación de planos y como trabaja las viñetas llenas de acción, las cuales son una práctica genial para entintar. Lamentablemente no lo podía utilizar para mi portfolio porque te suelen pedir al menos cinco páginas consecutivas; y Vik no está subiendo consecutivas a su portfolio.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And the search for consecutive pages took me some days. Is not usual for artist to submit their pencils, and less a bunch of consecutive pages of the number they are working on. I started by searching my favorite artists, then the better known. I informed myself a lot, looking at pages and forums. I read a lot and I’m happy because I also learned a lot.

Until I found the Facebook of Joe Madureira. I loved his style, and I admit I didn’t know him but I fell in love with his work for the Avenging Spider-Man series. Obviously, I couldn’t help myself and I downloaded the comics! I thought it was interesting that the pages were not inked, only cleaned a little bit and colored over the pencils. It gave a special effect, of course.

Y la búsqueda a por las páginas consecutivas me llevó varios días. Es un poco raro que los artistas suban sus lápices, y menos un montón de páginas consecutivas del número en el que estén trabajando. Busqué, primero, mis artistas favoritos, luego los que eran más conocidos. Me informé muchísimo y estuve mirando páginas y foros. Leí un montón y me alegro porque también aprendí mucho.

Hasta que finalmente di con el Facebook del genial Joe Madureira. Me encantó su estilo, admito que no lo conocía pero me enamoré de su trabajo para la serie de Avenging Spider-Man. Claro, no pude evitar bajarme los comics! Me llamó la atención que no se contrató un entintador para las páginas de Joe, sino que se coloreó y limpió arriba del lápiz. Con un efecto genial, por supuesto.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I adore how disheartened Spidey looks. I would be like that too.

Adoro lo desanimado que se ve Spidey. Yo también lo estaría.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

One thought on “Artist’s Update

Comments are closed.